Bad Blogger

Blame it on bad internet connections that have made it impossible to upload photos. Blame it on having two weeks of Spanish lessons and no time to do anything else. Blame it on travelling with friends. Blame it on Gary’s Paradox (i.e. when you’re travelling you have no time to blog but when you’re blogging you’re not travelling). Whatever the reason, I’ve let myself get a bit behind on my blogging of late.

It’s not just blogging, I also have a mountain of emails and facebook messages to get through, and numerous phone calls to make to family and friends (so sorry to all of you who are waiting to hear from me).

Hopefully the backlog should be cleared soon – I have ten posts written and waiting to go as soon as my photos are online (and I have high hopes of good internet access in Antigua, where I’m headed tomorrow).

In the meantime, if you want to find out what it’s like to be in San Pedro (where I am now), Malena has a great post about the place and the lovely artisanl chocolate made here by Diego. I can confirm iut is truly delicious.

Christine from Almost Fearless wrote a classic post earlier this year about the experience of living with a host family while studying Spanish in Guatemala. Sadly my experience wasn’t quite as good as hers, but I had a wonderful experience all the same which I’ll be writing about soon.

Daniel & Audrey from Uncornered Market visited the amazing market of San Francisco el Alto just before I did, and it sounds like they had an equally interesting experience

Matt’s not quite as far behind as I am, but I wouldn’t be surprised if he makes it to posting about our time in Guatemala before I do – all the same, his recent post about the Sumidero Canyon in Mexico makes me really wish I’d had time to visit.

Finally, one of my other favourite recent posts is from Jeremy & Eva of Forks & Jets, who are continuing to make me hungry with the latest in their series of excellent posts about the food they’ve encountered on their trip. As always, the writing is great and the photos even better.

Hopefully normal service will be resumed pretty soon.

4 responses to “Bad Blogger

  1. I completely relate to falling behind on your blog and photos while on the road; we’re constantly playing catch-up. Although, sometimes the delay can be advantageous as it can give time for reflection and comparisons with other experiences. That’s what I keep telling myself, at least :)

  2. I hear you on getting behind in blogging and photo uploads. I’m a month behind and desperately trying to catch up. I’m learning that wherever I have wifi I should abuse it.

    good luck on catching up.

  3. All is forgiven.

    When you are busy on the road you have little time to blog and when you do you realise you have soooo much to write that you are concerned it will be too long and boring.

    I hate this and have often had serious words with myself for forcing myself to write succinct posts covering a couple of weeks rather than several digestible posts covering the whole subject!

    Good luck!

    Andy

  4. out of sight, out of mind – good idea to point people to fellow bloggers though

    remind, who are you again?

Leave a Reply

