México

I’m still changing my mind every five minutes about where exactly I want to go – a year may seem like a long time, but there are too many countries I want to see, and I really don’t want to rush. So I’ll need to prioritise.

One thing is pretty certain though – that I’ll start out in Mexico.

It was last year’s trip there that really got me thinking about a longer trip. It was my first time backpacking, and was the best holiday I’ve ever had.

I only got to see a tiny part of the country (Mexico is HUGE), but there were so many highlights: Lazing around on Caribbean beaches in Tulum, visiting the ruins in Palenque, seeing Mayan villages near San Cristobal de las Casas, punting (in the rain) in Xochimilco…and, er, losing my passport in Cancun airport (you’d think at least some of the security guards in latin america’s 4th busiest airport would speak English. Oh no, that would make it far too easy).

Best of all was the food. Everywhere we went the food was incredible. Admittedly if you don’t like Chilli you’d be pretty screwed – it’s so ubiquitous that my tolerance for spiciness soared over the time I was there. The biggest downside is that every Mexican meal I’ve had since I got back has been a crushing disappointment – it just tastes so bland in comparison.

So going back was always on the cards, and it seems a sensible enough place to start. There are so many places I still want to see – Zacatecas, Guanajuato, Chihuahua, the Copper Canyon, Oaxaca (I LOVE Mexican placenames. Especially Chihuahua, obviously).

Plus I have a strange obsession with Mexican wrestling (the masks in particular).
Wrestling masks

5 responses to “México

  1. I feel quite ill-travelled but I have been to Mexico and I have been to Guanajuato and Oaxaca, both of which are beautiful and well worth visiting. I stayed with a friend from Puebla, and there was some nice place just outside Puebla, which has now become part of the city, with a gazillion churches. Cholula, I think. And pyramids everywhere. The ruins at Tlaxcala really blew my mind, both because they were beautiful and being lovingly restored, or maintained in some way, and the place seemed nice and wild.

    Yes, Mexico is awesome.

  2. I feel like I could probably spend the whole year just in mexico and still not get to see all the good bits.

    Decisions, decisions…

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Favourite Countries « Itinerant Londoner

  4. Pingback: Hitting the streets of Mexico City (literally) « Itinerant Londoner

  5. Pingback: Wrestling – Bolivian Style « Itinerant Londoner

Leave a Reply

