Leaving the comfort zone

Reading this post really resonated with me.

Before I went to Laos at Christmas I was worried it might be a lonely trip – I’d never been away for three weeks on my own before, and I’ve always been really shy when it comes to introducing myself to new people. When i got there I quickly realised I needed to just get over my fears and go out and talk to people – and guess what? It really wasn’t anywhere near as hard as I thought it would be…and by the end of the trip I ended up spending New Year’s Eve with a bigger group of people than I’d ever spent it with back home.

New Year\'s Eve on Don Det, Laos

I’ve really noticed the effect on my confidence since I got back – both socially and at work.

An obvious part of the desire to travel is to see and experience new things, and my experience at Christmas has shown me I want to make sure lots of those new things are ones that lie outside my comfort zone.

To that end, I’ve just signed up for a beginners’ climbing course – I have a slight fear of heights, so figured forcing myself up cliffs will be a great way of confronting my fears!

2 responses to “Leaving the comfort zone

  1. Climbing! Bloody hell. Good for you.

    You’re never one of the people in that photo…

  2. If you’d told me 5 years ago I’d be doing this I wouldn’t have believed it.

    No, of course I’m not in that photo. They are all (a) younger and (b) far more attractive than me, which is why I’m behind rather than in front of the camera.

Leave a Reply

