Top 10 Favourite Countries

I have no plans to make lists a regular feature here (even if people do love them apparently), but I thought it’d be worthwhile to list my favourite places over the next few days, so that I can revisit them when I get back in 18 months’ time, to see how these have changed. So welcome to ‘top tens week’. And if you find lists boring, normal service will resume next week.

1. Mexico

San Cristobal de las Casas

San Cristobal de las Casas

My trip to Mexico in 2007 first got me thinking seriously about taking a year off to see more of the world. I only saw a small portion of the country (the Yucatan Pensinsular, Chiapas, and Mexico City) but it was more than enough to make me fall in love with the place. Aside from the obvious bits – beautiful scenery, stunning beaches, Mayan temples – two things in particular help seal Mexico’s spot at the top of this list: the friendliest locals of anywhere I’ve ever visited, and best of all, the food. I don’t think I had a bad meal the whole time I was there. The only downside being that Mexican food in the UK now tastes like a very, very poor imitation (other than the terrific Mestizo). As I wrote in one of my earliest postshere, it’ll be the first stop on my trip, and I can’t wait.

2. Laos

Wat Ho Pha Bang, Luang Prabang

Wat Ho Pha Bang, Luang Prabang

Only narrowly beaten by Mexico, it was in Laos at Christmas that I decided for certain that I was going to head round the world in 2009. Everyone I met whilst there agreed it was the surprise highlight of South East Asia. Easily the most laidback country I’ve been to, it’s another place I’m heading back to, but this time for longer, so I can enjoy the relaxed pace of life for a while longer without having to rush.

3. Spain

I’ve had more holidays in Spain than any other country, and it hasn’t let me down once, and (along with the next country on the list) is one the only countries in Europe I can imagine living in. The Spanish lifestyle seems so much more civilised than ours back home.

4. Germany

I’m a little biased here – six years living there have left a special place in my heart for Germany (and the Germans). It’s pretty sad that a combination of history and stereotypes dominate the British perception of the country (although I suppose it could be a blessing in disguise…Germany is unlikely to ever end of overrun by the types of British tourists who have ruined large chunks of meditteranean Europe)

5. France

Beaches, mountains, great cities, fantastic food…France has just about everything you could want out of a holiday destination. What’s not to love? (Well, apart from the French themselves…)

6. Portugal

It’s remarkable how few tourists you come across when you get away from the obvious bits (Lisbon, the Algarve). They’re missing out.

7. Australia

The country is so vast, and I’ve only scratched the surface so far. If & when I get to explore the interior more, I can see Australia working it’s way further up my list. Although that won’t be next year – other than a brief stop in Melbourne, I’ve decided not to spend too much time there, as it costs a a fair bit more than everywhere else I’m going.

8. USA

Very similar to the above, there’s so much I still want to do in the US. But what I’ve seen so far, I love. The strangest thing about visiting is that it all seems so instantly familiar, thanks to a million Hollywood movies and TV shows.

9. Georgia

The highlight of my school trip to the then-USSR back when I was 13, which makes recent events all the sadder for me. It’s a truly beautiful little country, and I long to go back to see how much it’s changed in the last 20 years.

10. Azerbaijan

When I visited back in 1988, the combination of modern, brutalist Soviet & older Islamic architecture with deserts full of oil wells, made Azerbaijan feel a world apart from the other Soviet republics I visited, and far more exotic than anywhere else I’d been.

And the biggest disappointment? Well, mentioning this to most people in the UK appears to be tantamount to sacrilege, however my two trips to Italy have not overly impressed me so far. I think I’ve been unlucky, and missed the best bits to be honest, but on both visits I’ve found the locals to be less than friendly, and the cities lacking atmosphere.

9 responses to “Top 10 Favourite Countries

  1. I would have to agree with most of your selection. Especially Portugal: by far one of my favourite countries visited.

  2. Can my list be Finland ten times? Oh, actually, let’s have Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania too. Except without Estonia, maybe. And perhaps Lithuania, actually. Let’s throw in Spain. I romanticise Wales in my head.

  3. No thailand? no italy? only two pictures!! tsk tsk!!

  4. My visits to Thailand have been too brief for me to really get a feel for the place…but it will be making an appearance in one of the other lists, definitely. And like I say, Italy has been a disappointment so far.

    Point taken on the photos though, serves me right for posting this while feeling ill, it all felt like a bit too much of an effort finding pictures for all of them!

  5. First about the pictures.
    Both are extremely beautiful with contrasting skies.

    I have been to 5 places out of your list.

  6. i like to see few of the countries you listed…. but, nothing is like HOME… home is Luangprabang, Laos(2nd picture).. i miss that place alot and i’m counting down the days before i’ll be home..

    thanks for sharing

  7. Odd that you don’t list the UK.

    There is so much I love about it – especially London and Edinburgh, but also the endlessly green countryside and so much history – rediscovered by accident (i.e. the Fishbourne villa and Tudor jewels)!

    Perhaps it is too familiar to you to make the list, but it is foreign enough to me for me to love it.

  8. I made a conscious decision not to include my home country, as it doesn’t really count as traveling, and I can never see it through a traveler’s eyes, as it’s all too familiar. I do adore it though, and no matter where I am in the world, it always has a special place in my heart.

  9. Pingback: Top 10 National Parks « Itinerant Londoner

Leave a Reply

