Winter walking in the Lake District

I’ve been rained on every time I’ve gone hiking this year, so I was expecting more of the same when I planned a weekend of pre-Christmas walking in the Lake District. Remarkably enough, it not only turned out dry, but the sun came out as well – in fact we had a completely cloud free day. With around two feet of snow on higher ground, and a sprinkling even in the valleys, it made for the perfect winter walking. With the sun glistening off the snow contrasting against the bright blue of the sky, it made for absolutely stunning views from the top of the hills.

Easedale

Easedale

Easedale

Easedale

A very friendly robin

A very friendly robin

Me at the top of Belles Knot, overlooking Easedale

Me at the top of Belles Knot, overlooking Easedale

Codale Tarn

Codale Tarn

Sheep over Langdale

Sheep over Langdale

I’d even go as far as to say I’ve never seen England look so beautiful. Hopefully I’ll get another chance to go back before I leave for Mexico; it would be too much to expect to have another day like Saturday.

9 responses to “Winter walking in the Lake District

  1. Have never been up there, but would really love to. It looks gorgeous. Enjoyed looking at your snaps over on flickr.

  2. Those pictures are really beautiful. Wow, that view!

  3. The snow & blue sky makes it look like the alps – not the grey weather we normally expect

  4. Ooh la la – this makes me even more excited for my trip!

  5. When I lived in Britain, I remember walking up one of the Lake District’s peaks ona day like that, but by the end it fogged over so much, we got no view and got badly (and scarily) lost on the way down. I guess that is part of the beauty of the area, but doesn’t blue skies make it look magificent too as your photos attest.

  6. Me and Stevey specialized are going to make the trip up to the lake district in easter i think.
    Dont tell Red Giant, he will get jeal.

  7. I love the lake district. though think it looks a wee bit better in the summer. Looks too cold though

  8. Pingback: Fitness (Vanity) « Itinerant Londoner

  9. Lovely pictures. The Lakes looks lovely throughout all the seasons. That’s one of the beauties of the area.

Leave a Reply

