Video: Howler Monkeys in Tikal

I’ve posted before about how Tikal in Guatemala is my favourite place I’ve been to so far, a fact that I was reminded of by this great post about the fantastic wildlife of the Tikal National Park.

A rather shy Coatimundi in Tikal National Park

A rather shy Coatimundi in Tikal National Park

Their wildlife photos are waaaaay better than mine, although I was pleased to see I wasn’t the only one who failed to capture a howler monkey. The little blighters are in fact bloody difficult to photograph, hiding as they do at the tops of trees, well out of sight.

Lucky they make such a racket then, meaning I was able to capture their extraordinary roar on video:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Howler Monkeys in Tikal on Vimeo“, posted with vodpod

There’s not much to much to see here (although there’s a bit of movement if you look closely) – just marvel at that sound. It’s more of a deathly roar to my ears than a howl, but I have to say it’s the strangest sound I’ve ever heard. Just one more reason why Tikal is such an incredible place.

Sunrise over Tikal. The tranquillity is shattered soon after as soon as the monkeys wake up.

Sunrise over Tikal. The tranquillity is shattered soon after as soon as the monkeys wake up.

5 responses to “Video: Howler Monkeys in Tikal

  1. Looks, great where abouts is Tikal? Could it be combine with a trip to the beach?

  2. Tikal is in northern Guatemala, and one of the easiest ways to get there is from Belize (which is how we did it), so could easily be combined with time on one of the Cayes of Belize, or, further north, somewhere on the Caribbean coast of Mexico, like Tulum (where you can see more Mayan ruins).

  3. So, you did the sunrise tour of Tikal, too? :) Your photo looks absolutely lovely. I remember the awesome sound of the jungle waking up still… it was a year ago now!

  4. The sunrise tour of Tikal is probably my favourite ever travel experience, truly magical. It was nearly two years ago for me, but the memory is as fresh as ever. In fact I might have to back for more when I’m in Guatemala again this May.

  5. That’s a great video. I love howler monkey’s. I saw a bunch while I was in Tikal and Belize. Excellent video. and nice sunset shot.

Leave a Reply

